Ayurveda department in a view


In the state of Rajasthan, the services are being provided for Ayurvedic, natural and yoga therapy medicines. Headquarter of the Ayurvedic Department in the State is located at Ashok Marg, Lohagal Road, Ajmer.


Methodical number of departmental dispensaries /hospitals

Ayurvedic Dispensary / Hospital - 3698

Yoga & Natural Hospital - 3

Yoga & Natural Dispensary - 3

Mobile Units - 14

Medicine production pharmacies - 5

(Ajmer, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Bharatpur, Kelwara (Baran))

Yog and Naturopathy Anusandhan Center- 33


Sanctioned posts of medical personnel

Ayurveda Doctors - 4491




Nursing Superintendent grade I


Nursing Superintendent grade II


Senior nurse Compounder


Junior nurse Compounder



As the first director of the department, Kaviraj Shri Pratap Singh rendered his services from 1.4.1950 to 12.9.1952. Subsequently, Rajvaidhya Shree Nandkishore Sharma, Kaviraj Shri Nityanand Sharma, Sri Premshankar Sharma, Shri Daulatram Chaturvedi, Shri Gokulendra Sharma, Shri Prahalad Rai Derashree, Shri Narahari Shastri, Shri Ambalal Trivedi, Shri Devshankar Sharma, Shri Ram Bharosi Mishra, Dr. KP. Vyas etc. have rendered their services at this post.


Departmental doctors and nursing staff are providing medical and health care facilities from the capital of the state to remote mountain, desert, rural and urban, tribal, through their services in all the backward areas. 90 percent of the department's dispensaries are functional in rural areas.


The medical department does not only provide the medical facility but also the medicines are produced and provided free of cost to the patients. Apart from this, departmental doctors, nurses / Compounderers and other employees also participate to make active contribution in programs such as family welfare, child development and health care, pulse polio, literacy, small-savings, leprosy-eradication, blindness-prevention, malaria eradication, tuberculosis control and other national programmes  .


A licensing authority has been appointed to issue licenses for the making/production of Ayurvedic and Unani medicines.


In the State, for the production of Ayurvedic and Unani medicine, 5 Departmental Drug Pharmacies (Rasayan Shalayen) are functional in Ajmer, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Bharatpur and Kelwada (Baran). Currently, 63 Ayurvedic and 18 Unani medicines are being produced in these pharmacies.


Due the private participation, A Panchgavya Pharmacy, and a Government Pharmacy in the Kelwada Gram and Panchayat Samiti - Shahbad Baran shall be establish to start the production of medicines under Shri Dwarkadhish Panchgavya panchayati Pharmacy Development and Management Committee.




Administrative structure of Ayurvedic department in Rajasthan state

Top level-

Honorable Minister of Health, Family Welfare and Ayurveda, Rajasthan

Honorable Minister of State for Health, Family Welfare and Ayurveda, Rajasthan

Honorable Principal Secretary, Ayurveda and Indian system of medicines Department, Jaipur

Honorable Deputy/Joint Secretary, Ayurveda and Indian system of medicines Department, Jaipur

Honorable Assistant Secretary, Ayurveda and Indian system of medicines Dept., Jaipur


Directorate level

Director, Ayurveda Department, Ajmer

Additional Director (Administration) Ayurveda Department Ajmer

Chief Account Officer, director of Ayurveda Ajmer


Additional Director (Ayurveda)

10 Posts

Deputy Legal Remembrance

1 Posts

Deputy director  Ayurveda

37 Posts

Account officer

3 Posts

Assistant director ayurveda

50 Posts

Assistant Drug Controller

1 Posts

Statistical officer

1 Posts

Senior legal officer

1 Posts

Assistant Accounts Officer – I

7 Posts

Additional Director Offices are established for effective administrative control at the division level.

The offices of the Deputy Director of the Ayurveda department are established at all the district headquarters of the state. In the district of Jaipur, due to workload and the number of dispensaries, two separate offices of Area A and Area B the Deputy Director, Ayurveda Department are established.